I am a lady!

Today I got up close to eight, a little on the late side for me now, took a shower, put on makeup, chose my clothes and had a quick bite to eat before heading down to the District Courthouse to begin the process of legally changing my name to Deanna Joy Hallmark. Last night, I had downloaded all the paperwork I would need, filled everything out on my computer and printed three copies of each. I was ready to go!

I got to the courthouse and parked at a meter and walked over.  When I passed through the security checkpoint no matter what I took off, it kept on buzzing.  Finally the guard asked me to face the wall while he wanded me and he kept pointing to my hip area when it finally dawned on me that I have two new titanium hip joints.  Ha ha, how silly of me.  The guard seemed to be not so amused as I was.

Anyway, I got in line at the clerks office and while I was waiting noticed a small sign that said “No personal checks accepted” so I rushed out to my credit union and got cash and rushed back to the courthouse.  The guard remembered me so we didn’t need to repeat the last faux pas.

There was no line this time so the clerk notarized the petition and completed the other forms before sending me over to a judge’s office to schedule a hearing in a month and I returned to the clerk with the notice of change of name which I then took over to the Santa Fe Reporter newspaper to have the notice published for two weeks between now and my hearing where I would receive the official order of change of name.

So when a girl is as excited as I was after all that, what does she do next?  She goes shopping!  I went to the nearby Ross store, my mission to find boots among other things but the only pairs that had also had low heels.  I tried on a pair anyway but given my recent hip surgery, I knew I had to pass them up, even at the price, tee hee.

I next went to look for a coat or jacket and found a suitable  one in black that hugged my figure nicely and then looked for tops and pants in brown, a color I hadn’t yet gotten into.  I went several times to the changing room to try on various pieces, taking this and rejecting that and on the third visit, as I was walking down the hallway to the ladies dressing rooms a male employee who hadn’t been around the first two times kept calling to me “Sir, the men’s dressing room is this way.”  I was scared for a moment, thinking he might make a scene  and then I turned toward him, put my hands to my hips and said “I am a lady.”

When I came back out, he didn’t say a word.  I do so love being a girl!

About Deanna Joy Hallmark

I am a post-op transgender woman who has now completed transition and living my life as the woman I was born to be. I have been writing my blog, now titled "A Spy in the Enemy Camp - A transgender woman’s perspective from having lived as a man among men" since December 2011. Originally a record of my process and feelings in transition, last summer in 2013 it took on observations from both sides of the gender binary and now will also be looking at my past life pretending to be the man I never was and how it finally brought me to where I am today, the beautiful intelligent woman I had always believed I should have been since I was little.
This entry was posted in Sisterhood and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

