Happy 5th Birthday and the Transgender Bodhisattva

Yesterday, November 27, 2016  marked my 5th anniversary of coming out to the world and beginning my life as Deanna.  soon after I would start this blog under the name, “I Am Deanna.”

I went to the place where it all began, Embodydance Santa Fe, where I publicly came out to this loving community of dancers after having had a mystical experience at 3 am that morning when my whole body convulsed multiple times. I knew in my heart that I could never go back to pretending to be the man known as David.  I stood up in the closing circle and declared to all who were there that “I can no longer live or be seen as a man.”

Before the dance, I created an altar commemorating this special day as shown below. altar-3In the center is two pictures, the one on the left was taken on December 15, 2011 and on the right, taken on my webcam at home before I went.  In the center is a statue of Quan Yin, the the bodhisattva of infinite compassion. The elephant statues represent my traveling to Bangkok, Thailand to have my surgery, thus completing my full transition to the woman I am today. 

Kwan Yin originated in India as a male deity and was brought to China in that form. Ancient representations of Kwan Yin often include a pencil-thin mustache and a small goatee. But because compassion and mercy were categorized as “feminine” virtues, portrayals of Kwan Yin got progressively effeminate over time as artists tried to capture that essence in their work. During the Song Dynasty (about 1000-1200 C.E.), Chinese artists just threw in the towel completely and turned Kwan Yin into a woman.

So begins my sixth year as the woman I always thought I should have been!

Deanna Joy Hallmark

 

 

About Deanna Joy Hallmark

I am a post-op transgender woman who has now completed transition and living my life as the woman I was born to be. I have been writing my blog, now titled "A Spy in the Enemy Camp - A transgender woman’s perspective from having lived as a man among men" since December 2011. Originally a record of my process and feelings in transition, last summer in 2013 it took on observations from both sides of the gender binary and now will also be looking at my past life pretending to be the man I never was and how it finally brought me to where I am today, the beautiful intelligent woman I had always believed I should have been since I was little.
This entry was posted in Transgender. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy 5th Birthday and the Transgender Bodhisattva

  1. Ken Shaw says:

    Thanks, Deanna.

Leave a Reply

