Me gusta mucho lo que es una chica!

The last two days have been full and wonderful and I’ve gotten behind in my postings.

Yesterday, I got called in to help my former employer with flower deliveries but before I could do that, I had an appointment with an Optometrist to get a prescription for a new pair of glasses, ladies style, of course.  A girl friend of mine had commented a few days ago that my current pair were too “butch” for me now and since I hadn’t replaced the glasses I was wearing since 1992, I thought it was time.

After the appointment, I really didn’t have time to see my optician for the glasses so I went in to my old job delivering flowers where everyone would see me for the first time as Deanna.  It was exciting to say the least, because these ladies were the last to know of those I have known in Santa Fe and who have known me as David.  I was truly wonderful to be accepted without question as has been my experience with most here in Santa Fe.

After my shift,  I went to Sam’s Club to straighten out a problem with my credit card and shopped for a few tops and a puffy purple vest to wear for work instead of the coat I had bought last week.

Today I got up early to get ready for work and to see my optician beforehand and found a lovely simple gold-rimmed pair of frames for only $85 plus the cost of the prescription before heading off for another shift at work.

When I had worked previously as my former self, I often found myself stressed and exhausted but as I am growing into my life as a girl, it has really been fun and I still have loads of energy to do more.

After work, one of the ladies had some inexpensive jewelry for sale so I bought a few pieces and as she spoke Spanish I asked her to tell me how to say “I love being a girl” in Spanish which is now the title of this post.

As David, I have never been able to have this kind of relationship with these women but now it is entirely new and exciting to be “one of the girls.”

I stopped at my house as my wife, Carol had some food she had been given to share with me that amounted to a major part of my monthly budget for food and then I then headed for the mall to get my earlobes pierced.

After the piercing, I walked across the mall to a Victoria’s Secret store and just loved walking around touching and feeling those pretty bras and underwear, totally not self-conscious as I have been as a man.  I watched all the other young women laughing and talking and having fun in that store.

I headed to another store outside of the mall and bought some hats and some beauty products. As I was trying on hats a couple of kids were peeking around a corner to check me out because of my rather manly face and the women’s clothing I was wearing.  I just hope that their mother can explain me in a way that respects the diversity and of all of us who seek to live our lives as we want instead of by someone else’s rule of living.

It is truly amazing about how smoothly everything has worked out these past two days and equally amazing how much energy I have had and expended to advance my new life as a girl.

I can hardly wait to get my new glasses next week in time for Christmas.

About Deanna Joy Hallmark

I am a post-op transgender woman who has now completed transition and living my life as the woman I was born to be. I have been writing my blog, now titled "A Spy in the Enemy Camp - A transgender woman’s perspective from having lived as a man among men" since December 2011. Originally a record of my process and feelings in transition, last summer in 2013 it took on observations from both sides of the gender binary and now will also be looking at my past life pretending to be the man I never was and how it finally brought me to where I am today, the beautiful intelligent woman I had always believed I should have been since I was little.
This entry was posted in Sisterhood and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

