Radical Feminism in 2012

There is a conference of women going on in the UK in July called Radfem 2012 which is open only to participants who are “women born women, living as women” as stated in what could be perceived as a manifesto of sorts purposefully designed to avoid that very connotation.  Curiously, they also will admit girls as well as boys up to the age of 11 for a separate place to be on their own called a “creche” which they define by not defining it on the website.  I wonder if they should have also included “…but not living with a woman as a significant other”, but I guess that is my own judgment of the kind of radical feminism that they might espouse.

As a “person born a human and living as a woman and feminist in 2012”, I debated whether or not I was out of place commenting about it but in googling to find a link to the page I have linked to above, I found out that I didn’t have to because there was another who had something to say about the conference and what it said to her about her own growing up experiences as a girl trying to pretend to be a boy because she was assigned to playing a role in life not suited to her by virtue of her “gender as assigned at birth” and who said it so well that I didn’t need to add my own two cents to her comments.

I want to let you know that I was deeply touched by what she said because I have been there myself and if you want to see those comments and the responses, I will link to it here.  Still I want you to know that to balance her comments with a little bit of irony and levity, that I mean no disrespect to what she said.

Even those possible few of us, who have never had the experience of being dehumanized because we didn’t fit into some narrow-minded concept of what it means to be either of two possible genders, can see that by excluding even the debate that has become a part of the political landscape of the Presidential election campaign in the U.S. this year, and calling the conference Radfem 2012, is both appropriate and representative of an idea that to deliberately exclude the debate of what a woman is for the purposes of the conference, is the most radical feminist idea for them to not debate.

I must admit that I was, at first, nonplussed, then I wanted to laugh and forget about it and then I became a bit of a radical feminist myself by suggesting that perhaps what these ladies needed was a good roll in the hay or worse yet, to suggest that perhaps their mothers forgot to tell them the real meaning of the “C” word, but now I think I’ll just go back to minding my own business and let these gals mind theirs.

I just hope that I haven’t offended any of you radical feminists out there, but in case I have, you might want to reread the last paragraph.

Deanna

About Deanna Joy Hallmark

I am a post-op transgender woman who has now completed transition and living my life as the woman I was born to be. I have been writing my blog, now titled "A Spy in the Enemy Camp - A transgender woman’s perspective from having lived as a man among men" since December 2011. Originally a record of my process and feelings in transition, last summer in 2013 it took on observations from both sides of the gender binary and now will also be looking at my past life pretending to be the man I never was and how it finally brought me to where I am today, the beautiful intelligent woman I had always believed I should have been since I was little.
This entry was posted in Feminism, Reblog and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Radical Feminism in 2012

  1. Becky says:

    Deanna,
    News about this conference has been circulating in trans circles here in the UK for a couple of weeks, and it is truly offensive the stance that this fringe group is taking.

    It should be noted, however, that this is a fringe group and not representative of the majority of feminists in the UK, who are very open and accepting of their trans sisters.

    Thanks for helping to spread awareness of their awful message on your side of the pond.

    Becky

    • As I said from the start, Becky, I want to have fun becoming the woman I’ve always wanted to be and it was a delight to be an eye for all y’all (plural of y’all) on the other side of the pond. I read somewhere that every shift in consciousness will have those who will kick and scream from the fringe which is a sure bet that the shift is already becoming the rule rather than the exception.
      Deanna

  2. Like minds Deanna, like minds! I had the very same reaction when I found out about the Michigan Womyn’s Music Festival, for “womyn-born-womyn” only. (http://michellelianna.wordpress.com/2012/01/23/mean-in-spirit/) Actually, I’m still a little miffed. I think Becky is right though, it is a minority and in any demographic, whether we identify with them or not, there are going to be those mean in spirit.

Leave a Reply

