Hey Guys, I’m Still Alive and Kicking!

It isn’t hard to notice that I haven’t posted in a while.  I make no apologies for it because that will only feed my bad wolf rather than my good.  Instead I will begin where I left off which was my own version of the Serenity Prayer.

The past couple of months have been far from serene.  In July, I had a gas bubble injected into my right eye to repair a small macular hole in the retina. The procedure went well and I was to keep my head in a facedown position for most of the week following.  A visit to the doctor in August confirmed that the hole was sealed and I already showed a marked improvement in my vision.

The big issue had to do with my credit cards that were gobbling up 2/3rds of my monthly income from Social Security. I was able to negotiate slightly lower payments at zero percent interest for the next 5 years but three others were not willing to renegotiate so I simply stopped paying them at all. Interestingly enough all three cards were issued by Synchrony Bank.

I decided to google some preliminary information regarding bankruptcy and within a day or two, I received an email letter from a Nonprofit legal firm in Oregon called Helps Nonprofit Law Firm which can stop creditor harassment by enrolling in the program and providing HELPS with a list of all creditors with contact information.  The program helps Seniors and the disabled who have no income other than Social Security which is protected from garnishment by law, all for an enrollment fee based on income and a monthly maintenance fee of $20/month. My income being on the higher end was only $250 down and $20/month and even that could be spread out over 5 months, after which I only continue paying  $20/month.  What a relief.  After I get caught up I will be able to actually live on what I  get on Social Security until something else comes along.

With that now accomplished I can focus on more important things like attracting a man into my life who can help fulfill the last and should I say best part of my lifelong fantasy which is to be swept of my feet by a man and enjoy the pleasure of being a woman, if you know what I mean.

So that’s what has been up for me and its time to move forward with the rest of my life.  I have already stepped out of my comfort zone to plan a trip to Florida in late November to visit my brother and his family celebrating his 70th birthday. I don’t yet know how I am going to pay for it but as those of you who have been following this blog since at least last fall know, these is child’s play compared with what was happening on my Road to Bangkok just one year ago.

Tomorrow, October 7, 2014 will be the second anniversary of my late beloved’s passage into the Great Mystery.  I am not sure how I will mark the day other than speaking to it in a Women’s Circle I joined recently. What comes to mind is what we had at our last meal together before she died which was carry out Pizza.  I was also working at another Pizza Restaurant at the time so I might consider taking a small Pizza to share with the ladies in my Circle. On Thursday night I will be creating a memorial altar at my Embodydance Community similar to the one I did a year ago.

First anniversary altar

It hasn’t all been work and no play!  After I was mobile again after my eye surgery, I continues to go to the Santa Fe Plaza nightly to listen to some great music and dance.

On labor day, I spent the afternoon on the Plaza enjoying the art show and entertainment while avoiding spending money on food, which is so much easier now that it has ever been.On the Plaza, I had my picture taken by a stranger which some of you have seen via Facebook.

Deanna 2014-09-0

Later in September I went to the Annual Deanna 2014-09-20 Fairy 1 brighter croppedRenaissance Fair dressed as a fairy, the first time I have ever gone in costume.

 

 

 

And to think, at 75 lbs heavier, I once looked like this! Ewh!David at 240 lbs crop

 

 

Deanna Joy Hallmark

 

About Deanna Joy Hallmark

I am a post-op transgender woman who has now completed transition and living my life as the woman I was born to be. I have been writing my blog, now titled "A Spy in the Enemy Camp - A transgender woman’s perspective from having lived as a man among men" since December 2011. Originally a record of my process and feelings in transition, last summer in 2013 it took on observations from both sides of the gender binary and now will also be looking at my past life pretending to be the man I never was and how it finally brought me to where I am today, the beautiful intelligent woman I had always believed I should have been since I was little.
This entry was posted in A Tribute, Memories, The Road to Bangkok and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hey Guys, I’m Still Alive and Kicking!

  1. Robyn McCutcheon says:

    You are indeed looking marvelous, Deanna. I just wanted to let you know that I continue to follow along as best I can from the other side of the globe.

    Sending hugs,
    Robyn

Leave a Reply

