My Own Declaration of Independence

A response to my post “A Word or Three About Independence Day” got me to thinking about the true meaning of freedom to me. The following is my own Declaration of Independence.”

We cannot wait until someone gets in power to change the world for us. “Power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely.” This is our problem and we are the ones responsible for finding a solution. There is a solution and I believe it is within the power of all of us to begin today, right here and right now.

This is not an easy task for it is written that “It is easier said than done.” My own solution, if I may call it that, is to live my life like there is no tomorrow and to live by the Four Agreements set down by Miguel Ruiz which I have paraphrased by changing your to my in two places for I can speak only for myself and no one else.

“Be Impeccable with my word.
Don’t take anything personally.
Never presume anything
Always do my best.”

These are not easy to live by either but I must set my intention every day that I will make an effort to learn where I miss the mark and adjust my aim accordingly.  My soul’s purpose in this life is to be a beacon of light in the darkness of my own shadows, those disowned beliefs and behaviors for which I am alone responsible and for which I must seek the help of my higher power, who some may call God.

I can do no more or no less, for no man, woman or idea can bring about a change in people’s hearts and minds. They must do it for themselves and for no one else.  When they can bring the light into their own darkness, I believe they will come to see the joy and zest for living that I have found by living true to myself and letting no one or no thing tell me what I should do, must do and all the rest of it.  I am blessed and grateful to have discovered for myself what true freedom is all about and no nation or ideal can bestow that freedom upon me or take it away.

As William Ernest Henley wrote in his poem Invictus

“I am the master of my fate:
I am the captain of my soul.”

I say “Amen to that!”

I once again wish all a happy and safe 4th of July and may all of us declare for ourselves our own Declaration of Independence!

Deanna Joy Hallmark

About Deanna Joy Hallmark

I am a post-op transgender woman who has now completed transition and living my life as the woman I was born to be. I have been writing my blog, now titled "A Spy in the Enemy Camp - A transgender woman’s perspective from having lived as a man among men" since December 2011. Originally a record of my process and feelings in transition, last summer in 2013 it took on observations from both sides of the gender binary and now will also be looking at my past life pretending to be the man I never was and how it finally brought me to where I am today, the beautiful intelligent woman I had always believed I should have been since I was little.
This entry was posted in Advocacy, Global shift, Gratitude, Living in Grace, Shadow, Shift Happens, Taking charge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

