Why Are Men More Likely to Be “Couch Potatoes?”

I have been thinking about a lot more things lately.  This not to say that I don’t think about a lot of things all of the time. My experience living in a woman’s shoes has shown me that as a woman, I have think about a lot more different things at once and they sometimes overlap, but more often do not.  I believe every woman has known this since they stopped being just a girl and were beginning to take on the responsibilities and tasks of womanhood, that women have to think about and do a lot more things than men even seem capable to do, all at once.

The truth be told, I believe we women do think about a lot more things  than men seem to be able to do and we don’t need to handle them in any sequential order.  If you are a woman and you deny that this is generally true about yourself, then you probably need a reality check.

I have addressed this idea before in earlier posts, but I don’t want to go back and look for them as references. Revisiting old issues is sometimes a good thing but if I take the time to think back about what I was thinking in the past, I will only become stuck in the past and miss what is going on with me in the present.

Getting back to where I was when I started this train of thought, why is it that men are more likely to be couch potatoes than women?  Is it because men tend to think and do things in some kind of sequential order while we can multitask and do a lot more different things at once, in no particular sequential order and sometimes actually have fun doing them?

Having lived most of my life in “the enemy camp”, I never did learn how to “chill out” and do absolutely nothing but sit in an easy chair or couch and channel surf for hours on end, getting up now and then to get something to eat, drink, smoke, whatever, that is if I didn’t have a mother, sister, wife or girlfriend to fetch those things for me. It just wasn’t me.  I somehow knew instinctively that women already had enough things to worry and fret about and why should I burden them even more to cater to my every need while I was just sitting there “like a lump on a log.” If we women could somehow use the toilet for our menfolk, they would probably ask us to do that for them too.

I don’t want you to think that I have become somewhat jaded to think that men are just lazy bums. When I think about that for a minute, maybe I do think that men are exactly that.  I don’t believe I was like that, but then again, I never was a man to begin with.

I really don’t have anywhere else to go on this topic, so I should probably stop here.  I didn’t have an idea for a title, much less a theme when I began this post. I was just exploring my thoughts as I believe a woman often does and have noticed how different my energy levels and my creative problem solving abilities have increased and how I am much more capable to be able to juggle a lot more things at once these days  since “crossing over to the other side of the fence.”

If men actually knew how we women can have more fun doing things that would be chores to them, we would probably have to kill them! LOL;)

Deanna Joy Hallmark 

About Deanna Joy Hallmark

I am a post-op transgender woman who has now completed transition and living my life as the woman I was born to be. I have been writing my blog, now titled "A Spy in the Enemy Camp - A transgender woman’s perspective from having lived as a man among men" since December 2011. Originally a record of my process and feelings in transition, last summer in 2013 it took on observations from both sides of the gender binary and now will also be looking at my past life pretending to be the man I never was and how it finally brought me to where I am today, the beautiful intelligent woman I had always believed I should have been since I was little.
This entry was posted in Feminism, Shift Happens, Sisterhood and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why Are Men More Likely to Be “Couch Potatoes?”

  1. Lesboi says:

    Having lived in both camps myself, to some degree…since I never really was a woman, I can tell you that men and women just simply are different in how they process information and tasks. I suck at multi tasking, something that my partner is a genius at doing. It aggravates her that I have to focus on one thing at a time and it aggravates me that she seems to bombard me with too much information at one time. I feel overwhelmed when she does this. I don’t think either is inferior to the other; just different. It’s the differences that make us need each other. I know plenty of women who are couch potatoes too by the way. I don’t think men have the corner on that.

    • LOL;) You’ll get no argument from me about lady couch potatoes. I was only suggesting that men are more likely to be couch potatoes than women and either way, the ability to multitask is not inherently gender specific and will more likely develop from historical and cultural gender roles and gender expression which can be fluid across the gender spectrum. As an example, in a previous post I spoke about the differences between a man’s and a woman’s.bathroom and while the average man will have soap, shampoo, razor and creme, tooth care products, comb and/or hairbrush, an average woman will have 20 or more items that a man would have no clue what they are used for, Strangely enough, when I began transition, my ability at multitasking improved rather quickly for I had a very steep learning curve to navigate between the way I felt I needed to express myself on either “side of the fence.” Perhaps that could be a topic for another post even though I most likely addresse that before.

Leave a Reply

