Finding my Special Niche in the “Gender-Queer Equality” Debate

Note: This post has been edited with some content removed since I first published this post. My apologies to anyone who read the article before I edited it.

In my last post I talked about the feeling that I no longer had a direction to drive me forward since I completed my transition this past February.  Last night, I was directed to a video by a transwoman, with whom I am friends via another Facebook group page, on a page called Gender Research for All Genders where a trans woman of unknown qualifications was talking about the need for Progesterone as part of Hormone Replacement Therapy for trans women. The thing that struck me about the video was not about the content but about the appearance of giving medical advice without being a licensed MD.  I had no background information for this presenter, but  I was skeptical and did my best to point out in a calm demeanor that the dissemination of medical advice, apparently without a medical license or presented in the context of a professional association of medical experts, was both dangerous and, in my humble opinion, unconscionable. It doesn’t matter whether she presented herself as a medical expert or not, what matters is that she was expressing her belief which did not appear based on a consensus of opinions by medical experts in the field.

Anyway, to get back to my apparent lack of direction in my life now that I have completed transition, this argument brought the fact to mind that I promised myself that when I completed my own transition, that I would focus on being an advocate for transgender and other non-normative or non-conformist gender issues. Being that I was brought up in a family where I often took the middle ground whenever my Dad and my eldest brother got into shouting matches over both politics and religion, my question to myself  was always “Why can’t they stop shouting and listen to each other.” When I was in college in the turbulent 1960’s, I answered a questionnaire about various political issues of the time.  This questionnaire was not limited to my college campus but was being conducted nationwide at other campuses as well.  Later, the results were tallied from what I presumed was a representative sample of respondees to the questionnaire nationwide, and a statistical analysis made which, for one thing, was able to determine which answers represented the average responses. Coincidentally, my responses matched exactly the average responses nationwide. That is not to say that I was an “average” respondee. I would rather think that I was extraordinary to have answered those questions from the exact middle ground.

What this all is leading towards is finding my special place in this whole LGBTQIA, or what I simply call gender-queer debate, I believe I have found it. My place in this debate is to take a middle ground by attempting to separate the wheat from the chaff, so to speak, to discern, in a non-judgmental way, information from disinformation or  misinformation from those who have not really done their homework to present an unbiased viewpoint passing for “truth.”.  I don’t believe the cause for gender-queer equality is served by those who are well-meaning gender-queer individuals not really qualified to speak for the gender-queer community-at-large or for any subset within the community-at-large. There is good work being done to bring equality and justice for all to gender-queer people and their allies and I believe that the time will come when all of us will be treated with equality and respect for being true to our nature.. My only hope is that I will live to see the day.

Stay tuned for more to come!

Deanna Joy Hallmark

 

 

The point of all this and how it relates to

 

About Deanna Joy Hallmark

I am a post-op transgender woman who has now completed transition and living my life as the woman I was born to be. I have been writing my blog, now titled "A Spy in the Enemy Camp - A transgender woman’s perspective from having lived as a man among men" since December 2011. Originally a record of my process and feelings in transition, last summer in 2013 it took on observations from both sides of the gender binary and now will also be looking at my past life pretending to be the man I never was and how it finally brought me to where I am today, the beautiful intelligent woman I had always believed I should have been since I was little.
This entry was posted in Advocacy and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

