On the Road to Bangkok: Where Have I Been These Past Few Weeks?

I haven’t been keeping all y’all* up to date and I’m pretty sure I now know why.  When I began writing this blog under the title I Am Deanna back in December 2011, I was beginning my journey and each day brought new adventures and observations that made writing almost effortless.  Now that I’m near the end of my Odyssey I am so focused in the day-to-day living of my new life, the life I always believed I should have been and am now living, that keeping my readers up to date has been difficult simply because not much is really happening to report about.

That is about to change, REAL SOON, mind you!  Today marks four weeks, 28 days until I will wake up with something a little different under the hood, or under my hospital gown in this case.  I needn’t get into details but I promise I will keep you all up to date on my daily activities from the time my dear lady friend and house warming ‘partner-in-crime’ delivers me to Albuquerque International Sunport on the eve of my departure, Sunday February 9, 2014 because I will be flying out at 6am on Monday and it just makes sense, given the fact that I won’t be sleeping anywho, probably until after I board my flight from LAX to Beijing, China, the second leg of my trip to Bangkok.

My son Michael, the trans-magnet, to whom he has been referred by a mutual trans-friend who will be reading this and knows who he is, will be meeting me for breakfast at LAX, a place with which he is quite familiar, having worked as a bartender at several of the restaurants located in the International Concourse, restricted to travelers and staff only.  Of course, he is no longer staff so we will be having breakfast elsewhere.  According to Mike, the “Huevos Rancheros” they serve in California doesn’t even have red or green chili. I think I will bring my own and leave what I don’t use with Mike, who misses our local New Mexican cuisine with which he has grown up since he was four.  I’m also thinking grits with biscuits and gravy and green chili.*

So, as the countdown continues, I am making lists, checking them thrice, and just fantasizing what my sex-life may look like in the near future when all of the work that I have gone through these past two years or so comes to a most fruitful conclusion.

I forgot to mention that recently I re-filled my prescriptions for Spironolactone and Finasteride for what I presume will be the last time.  It doesn’t seem that worthy of mentioning if it were not for the fact that each “last time” that comes to my attention is no small thing but a major realization that my life will never be the same.

Time to pack, I guess!

Deanna “Joy is putting it mildly” Hallmark

* Just a southern girl from Northern Virgina

About Deanna Joy Hallmark

I am a post-op transgender woman who has now completed transition and living my life as the woman I was born to be. I have been writing my blog, now titled "A Spy in the Enemy Camp - A transgender woman’s perspective from having lived as a man among men" since December 2011. Originally a record of my process and feelings in transition, last summer in 2013 it took on observations from both sides of the gender binary and now will also be looking at my past life pretending to be the man I never was and how it finally brought me to where I am today, the beautiful intelligent woman I had always believed I should have been since I was little.
This entry was posted in New Horizons, The Road to Bangkok, Transgender and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On the Road to Bangkok: Where Have I Been These Past Few Weeks?

  1. LizMarie says:

    I’ve been wondering how you’ve been doing! I know your big day is now rushing towards you and wish you all the best going forward! Take care of yourself, check those lists a few more times, and do check in to let us know how you are doing, ok! 🙂

Leave a Reply

