Happy 2nd Birthday to the Woman I Have Always Been

Today, November 27, 2013 just happens to be the second birthday of the girl and woman I have always been. If you haven’t read my story before, just click on this link or the link above entitled “Coming Out as Deanna.”

The past two years has been one incredible and extraordinary journey and in just 85 more days will be completed and a new journey will begin which should be just as extraordinary or even more so as the last two years have been for me.  After all of my diligence and hard work, I have re-invented myself like no one can ever imagine and I know that some of you have gone or are undergoing  a similar journey of self-discovery as you read this.

My heart goes out to those who have not been so fortunate as I have been in my process, who face obstacles that I could never imagine in my wildest dreams that they must face on a daily and sometimes minute-by-minute basis to be true to themselves.  At the same time, I must celebrate their journeys that so few among the family of man and woman-kind must take by virtue of an accident of birth.  I chose from the very beginning that I would succeed and in keeping the faith alive despite all the obstacles, misgivings and self recriminations, I believe that has made all the difference.

Now some of you may take my journey as one of having the privileges not afforded to many or even most of my brothers and sisters who face challenges far, far beyond my own.  I want those of you to know I get it. I strive always, sometimes unsuccessfully, to not discount or presume I know how those of you feel. At the same time, I know that at the very least, I make the effort to empathize for what they must endure and I can pat myself on the back without shame.

So here I am, just two years from where I began and so, so close to my ultimate goal of spiritual, emotional and physical transition to live and be seen as the woman I have always been and have wished for all of my life, so far.  I am reminded of a song that I have sung to myself in my darkest hours.  Although I think I shared it before and admit that it is quite sentimental, to say the least, I will share it again.

“When you wish upon a star,
Makes no difference who you are,
Every thing your hard’s desire,
Will come to you.

When your heart is in your dream,
No request is too extreme,
When you wish upon a star
as dreamer’s do.

Fate is kind,
It comes to those who love
The sweet fulfillment of
Your deepest longing.

Like a bolt out of the blue,
Fate steps in and sees you through,
When you wish upon a star,
Your dreams come true.”

Written by Leigh Harline and Ned Washington for Walt Disney’s 1940 adaptation of Pinocchio .

Happy 2nd Birthday to me!

Deanna Joy

About Deanna Joy Hallmark

I am a post-op transgender woman who has now completed transition and living my life as the woman I was born to be. I have been writing my blog, now titled "A Spy in the Enemy Camp - A transgender woman’s perspective from having lived as a man among men" since December 2011. Originally a record of my process and feelings in transition, last summer in 2013 it took on observations from both sides of the gender binary and now will also be looking at my past life pretending to be the man I never was and how it finally brought me to where I am today, the beautiful intelligent woman I had always believed I should have been since I was little.
This entry was posted in Providence and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy 2nd Birthday to the Woman I Have Always Been

  1. Happy Birthday, Deanna! May the stars and fate continue to see all of us through.

Leave a Reply

