The Road to Bangkok: Another Rite of Passage

Yesterday, I had my first mammogram.  I had heard from girlfriends that the procedure was not fun but this was a new experience for me and I wanted to savor every moment, paying attention to every detail of the process, from the dressing room where I undress from the waist up, including a necklace, don a pink gown with two pair of ties open toward the front, having my belongings put in a locker to which I am given the key, sitting in the waiting room with other women clad as I was, reading magazines or conversing and last, but not least, the procedure itself.  I so felt that I belonged there like I have been doing this regularly, a feeling I have experienced so many times before throughout my transition.

Admittedly, the procedure was uncomfortable at worse but so are many other things that I have experienced in my new life since I began transitioning almost two years ago.  Being over 60, I will be able to mark each year from now on by having this procedure repeated as I will continue to take estrogen post-op which increases my risk of a malignancy developing, yet I’m content to just have it always be an annual rite of passage to remind me to be grateful for being the woman I always thought I should have been.

I followed this experience by going across the street to a lab to have an HIV screening as required by Dr. Preecha prior to my surgery and checked off two more things on my to-do list on the Road to Bangkok.

Deanna Joy

About Deanna Joy Hallmark

I am a post-op transgender woman who has now completed transition and living my life as the woman I was born to be. I have been writing my blog, now titled "A Spy in the Enemy Camp - A transgender woman’s perspective from having lived as a man among men" since December 2011. Originally a record of my process and feelings in transition, last summer in 2013 it took on observations from both sides of the gender binary and now will also be looking at my past life pretending to be the man I never was and how it finally brought me to where I am today, the beautiful intelligent woman I had always believed I should have been since I was little.
This entry was posted in passages and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Road to Bangkok: Another Rite of Passage

  1. LizMarie says:

    Drawing closer and closer! I know another transwoman headed to Thailand in just 5 more days. Keep checking off those checkboxes! Pretty soon you’ll be boarding that jet to “cross over to the other side” as one woman I know phrased it! 🙂

  2. Allison Granted says:

    So glad things are going well. I’m still too young to need mammograms, but my mother, at 63, does them yearly. Her mother died from breast cancer, as did two of her mother’s sisters, so it’s a requirement for my mother. She tells me they are uncomfortable, but she does them because she knows her mother would want her to take care of herself. Sending love and support your way, Deanna.

Leave a Reply

