The Road to Bangkok: 100 days to go

Before and now 2

Today marks 100 days until I have my life-affirming GRS.  A lot has happened since I posted last about my “Week of Miracles.”  I now have my passport, my medical records from my last visit to the hospital in June for an Endoscopic discectomy along with a CD-ROM of diagnostic tests conducted at the time, a letter from my Primary Care Physician certifying my readiness for the procedure, and let’s see, what else?

All that awaits me now is a letter from my therapist and most importantly, the direct deposit of a lump-sum payment from a small annuity pension for my beloved’s work with Time-Warner Cable, which I will immediately change into Traveler’s Check to pay directly to Dr. Preecha for my surgery and to cover some of my other travel expenses such as lodging and food during my month-long stay.  There was a bit of a snag on Halloween night when I received the first monthly payment for which I first designated regarding the pension but it was resolved a week later and I should be receiving the deposit on Dec 6 or Dec. 20, 2013.

I still yet need to register and pay for the Symposium of the WPATH I will be attending before my procedure and I have until December 31, 2013 to register before the price goes up again since the end of August.  That could come from the pension or someplace else, I will wait and see.

Meanwhile I am having to raise additional funds to pay the first half of my property taxes in December to avoid any penalties or late fees and to raise funds toward other expenses I might incur while in Thailand, like money to go shopping for clothing and other delights and maybe to get to the beach or take an excursion for a few days to Siem Reap, Cambodia to see Angkor Wat,  which is about 410 km (254 mi) due East of Bangkok.

The holidays are fast approaching and this is the first time since 2009 that I will actually celebrate the holidays, especially Christmas, which in the Pagan calendar is known as Yule and coincides with the winter solstice around December 21-23. The last time I celebrated Christmas with a tree and decorations with my late beloved and our son was in 2009 and even that was dampened by my beloved’s advancing illness that would end last year in her transition into the “Great Mystery”, as I like to call it.

Having my beautiful sister, friend and house-mate, Baji, living with me is such a blessing that I am happy and content to just enjoy this time until I go in February to enjoy life to the fullest.  I continue to go to my Embodydance Community dances twice weekly, a Qi Gong practice at least once a week and walking vigorously for at least a half-hour a day, weather-permitting, while I continue on Baji’s “Fabulous Food Plan” and losing weight.  I have come down 19 lbs. since I started in early October and my target of 155 is  just 16 lbs away.  I seem to have reached a plateau of sorts but people are noticing and complimenting me on my new figure and with perseverance, I know I can reach my goal by Yule and look forward to the New Year and to Valentine’s Day, which would have been my beloved and my 33rd wedding anniversary, but this time will coincide with the opening day of the WPATH Symposium in Bangkok.

I sent a picture like the one above to Dr. Preecha’s Facebook page which he “Liked”  and as I ready myself for my adventure of a lifetime, I am just grateful every single day for my life and all that I have come to manifest in it.

Deanna Joy Hallmark

About Deanna Joy Hallmark

I am a post-op transgender woman who has now completed transition and living my life as the woman I was born to be. I have been writing my blog, now titled "A Spy in the Enemy Camp - A transgender woman’s perspective from having lived as a man among men" since December 2011. Originally a record of my process and feelings in transition, last summer in 2013 it took on observations from both sides of the gender binary and now will also be looking at my past life pretending to be the man I never was and how it finally brought me to where I am today, the beautiful intelligent woman I had always believed I should have been since I was little.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Road to Bangkok: 100 days to go

  1. Lesboi says:

    Congrats Deanna on your remarkable transformation! You look so happy!

  2. Allison Granted says:

    I wish you all the best, Deanna. Have a safe and healing trip. I love the pictures. Thank you for sharing.

  3. LizMarie says:

    Congratulations, Deanna! Forward progress! No cha-cha for you on this! You go, girl! 🙂

  4. Deanna, I am so proud to be part of your transformation by implementing with you Your Magnificent Food Plan. You are so dedicated to your health and well being ~ it is a pleasure to work with you. ~ Author and Coach, of “The Magnificent Food Plan” (soon to be in e-book form) ~ Baji Milici

  5. Before you know it, you will be in single digits, Deanna, and then you will be on your way. You have come so very far since you and I first got to know each other through our writings some two years ago. Keep going, girl!

Leave a Reply

