Biological differences in MTFs and cisgender males

I seem to have been right all along.

Deanna Joy

Liz - Day By Day

People continue to misunderstand that there are very real biological differences between the average cisgender male and male-to-female transsexuals. Below is an important image to understand that I extracted from Transgender Chicago: The New Health Frontier.

MTF_Brain_Scan_differences

 

The image above is the bed nucleus of the stria terminalis (BSTc), in the hypothalamus. Note that heterosexual and homosexual males have nearly identical brain structures in that region. Note that biological females have very different structures in that region from those of the males. And finally note that MTF transsexuals have brain structures that are very close to the female’s and nothing at all like the male’s neurological structures.

There are numerous other studies that highlight the biological differences between MTFs and cisgender males. What this image and many other studies show is that, in the brain where our essential self lies, that MTFs truly are female, not male.

This also shows…

View original post 33 more words

About Deanna Joy Hallmark

I am a post-op transgender woman who has now completed transition and living my life as the woman I was born to be. I have been writing my blog, now titled "A Spy in the Enemy Camp - A transgender woman’s perspective from having lived as a man among men" since December 2011. Originally a record of my process and feelings in transition, last summer in 2013 it took on observations from both sides of the gender binary and now will also be looking at my past life pretending to be the man I never was and how it finally brought me to where I am today, the beautiful intelligent woman I had always believed I should have been since I was little.
This entry was posted in Transgender and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Biological differences in MTFs and cisgender males

  1. LizMarie says:

    Glad to have helped, Deanna! I also watched a youtube video of a lecture at Stanford, where a professor also claimed that they had eliminated HRT as causing this. The brain structures are largely set during pregnancy. Further, the professor stated that they had also examined the brains of MTFs who had chosen to not transition and who had not undergone HRT, yet their brains were similar.

    So yes, we’re born this way. It’s a medical condition, not a “lifestyle choice” the way the haters try to paint it.

Leave a Reply

