Happy Birthday, My Beloveds

Happy birthday to you, happy birthday to you. happy birthday dear hunny bunny, happy birthday to you!  Our son, would have added “…and many more  on channel four, and all the rest on CBS.”

Today would have been my late beloved Carol’s 64th birthday.  A year ago, she and I had lunch together at a local Italian restaurant and it would be the last celebration we would spend together before she passed away 7 weeks later.  Now that I think about it, our belated celebration was a day later, also a Monday as she celebrated her last birthday anniversary with others.

What I remember about that lunch was that I had worn my prettiest dress for the occasion and that we were treated by an attentive male server as two ladies out to lunch together, the first time I was to have that experience with any woman, the least of which was the woman I had shared half a lifetime together as marriage partners.  That made it a day of firsts and lasts for me.

What we talked about seems trivial, probably because it was trivial.  I don’t remember that we laughed together, but I have long since forgotten when we had ever had a good laugh together.  It brings to mind when we could laugh together and be grateful to share a moment of happiness when the world and all of its cares seemed far away.

Three days from now, August 22 would have been my mother’s 98th.  Since I began my transition, she has occupied a much bigger place in my heart than she ever seemed to before.  I guess it is because mothers and daughters have a special bond, like sisters often do.  So now I celebrate these two most significant women in my life, beloved mother and beloved wife.  I will blow out a candle for both of you!

Deanna Joy

About Deanna Joy Hallmark

I am a post-op transgender woman who has now completed transition and living my life as the woman I was born to be. I have been writing my blog, now titled "A Spy in the Enemy Camp - A transgender woman’s perspective from having lived as a man among men" since December 2011. Originally a record of my process and feelings in transition, last summer in 2013 it took on observations from both sides of the gender binary and now will also be looking at my past life pretending to be the man I never was and how it finally brought me to where I am today, the beautiful intelligent woman I had always believed I should have been since I was little.
This entry was posted in A Tribute, Memories and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Birthday, My Beloveds

  1. It is always nice to be able to not only remember the person, but also some specifics from a particular day. Great post!

  2. April says:

    Happy birthdays to these special ladies. That’s a lovely memory, Deanna. 🙂

Leave a Reply

