The Road to Bangkok: Part 1a

Some of you may be old enough to remember watching in a theater or at least on TV some of the seven Road to… comedy films starring Bob Hope, Bing Crosby and Dorothy Lamour. If not, some of you may have seen spoofs based on those films on the animated TV series  Family Guy, even if you may not have known the reference. Interestingly, the seventh one of the series, the only one that had The in the title was The Road to Hong Kong so I guess The Road to Bangkok will be close enough.

Anyway, in the early evening tomorrow, I have a consultation at a spa in Albuquerque for laser hair removal to my private area.  This spa was recommended to me by Adrien Lawyer, the Executive Director of the Transgender Resource Center of New Mexico as a place to start the process of getting ready for my upcoming trip to Bangkok to complete the last major step of my transition.  I already had facial hair removal treatments last year that removed all of the dark hair of my beard but I must still shave my face daily to remove the nearly invisible gray beard that does become visible after a few days, as it did this past winter when I was sick with the flu and didn’t shave for over three days.  I will be consulting with the medical team at the Preecha Aesthetic Institute about my facial hair when I get there so I am not going to really worry about that for now.

I am more than a bit nervous about this because I am going to have to show the area in question to the woman with whom I will be consulting .  I would be fine if it weren’t for the fact that my “boy parts” are an anathema to me and I don’t even want to look at them myself so I only do so when I need to shave those parts to remove as much hair as possible, which I usually do every so often when I’m willing to even look and touch myself in the region.  It additionally worries me that I have gray hair in the area too and it may mean that I will need some additional electrolysis but I must begin the process either way as soon as possible to be ready in February.  Maybe I could just pretend that I am visiting my future gynecologist for a pelvic exam, something that I believe will be far easier to do when that time finally comes next year.

I have always known on the soul plane from the beginning of my journey that everything is going to turn out because on the soul plane, whatever happens on the lower planes is perfect. Its my mind and my stomach that still has difficulty in keeping with the program.

Deanna Joy

About Deanna Joy Hallmark

I am a post-op transgender woman who has now completed transition and living my life as the woman I was born to be. I have been writing my blog, now titled "A Spy in the Enemy Camp - A transgender woman’s perspective from having lived as a man among men" since December 2011. Originally a record of my process and feelings in transition, last summer in 2013 it took on observations from both sides of the gender binary and now will also be looking at my past life pretending to be the man I never was and how it finally brought me to where I am today, the beautiful intelligent woman I had always believed I should have been since I was little.
This entry was posted in The Road to Bangkok and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Road to Bangkok: Part 1a

  1. lizelth says:

    All of this pain and difficulty to be who we feel we are. If there is one thing that I hold onto, even though I am not yet as far along as you, it is that each day brings me one step closer to my goals. I hope that you can find what you need to help you carry on until you arrive at the Preecha Institute and can achieve what you’ve sought. Good luck! 🙂

    • I express gratitude on a daily basis and I always look for the lesson in the good as well as the not-so-good. The Dalai Lama once said “Sometimes not getting what you want is a stroke of good luck!”

Leave a Reply

