Bangkok, Thailand, Here I Come!

As I have posted on the blog many times before, I have always held in my heart that the completion of my transition with surgery was a done deal.

Having said that, I am now in the process of arranging for my gender affirmation surgery (GAS?) at the end of January or start of February, 2014 at the Preecha Aesthetic Institute in Bangkok, Thailand to coincide with the Biennial Symposium of the World Professional Association for Transgender Health (WPATH) scheduled there on February 14-18, 2014. I have a lot of work to do but all I need to do now is follow the road, as I have throughout my transition, following my nose and putting one foot in front of the other.

I have been on the emotional roller coaster since the first of the year and now everything has all come together in less than a week.  It began this past Tuesday, July 9, just two days after my 64th birthday, when I was sitting on my front porch, having dinner that I cooked on my outdoor grill and enjoying the cool, night air of the high altitude desert (actually its a high altitude prairie) of New Mexico where it has been broiling hot for the past month with daytime temperatures sometimes rising to 100 degrees, which for Santa Fe is pretty dang hot.  Even the humidity caused by the clouds overhead wanting to release their load of much needed moisture  was enough to be noticed by New Mexicans used to the lack thereof, which often remains below 20%.  A good remedy to get our mind off how hot it is outside is to get hot inside with some good Hatch red or Chimayo green chile.

Anyway, while I won’t get into financial details of how I will pull this off, I first learned of the WPATH Symposium about a month ago and I decided then and there that my target date for surgery could not be more perfect.  Still, I didn’t know that I would be here now telling you this for even though the how only presented itself about two weeks ago,  I just wasn’t able to see it until Tuesday night when, all of a sudden, in a flash of brilliance, it came together. I’m still reeling from the synchronicity that my solution was, in many ways, a gift from my late beloved wife, Carol and it took a week or so for me to finally “get it”. The universe was working overtime to get me to see the light.

I ran into a little snag on Friday, trying to wire my deposit from my bank to the doctor’s bank but it finally got settled today.  During that intervening period of time, my mind wanted to make much more of the delay than need be, like too many “what ifs” rattling around in my head,  but I have learned to catch my mind playing its dirty tricks and rather than try to make it so, I just let it be so. Sorry Captain Picard!

One final synchronicity. The opening date of the Symposium is 02-14-2014, which would have been Carol and my 33rd Wedding Anniversary, a double 3, which was Carol’s lucky number, making the portend doubly lucky.  It was a very busy Saturday on the day we got married and our choice of times was only one, 3 PM!

Talk about synchronicity in spades. I guess 3 really is the charm!

Deanna Joy Hallmark
About Deanna Joy Hallmark

I am a post-op transgender woman who has now completed transition and living my life as the woman I was born to be. I have been writing my blog, now titled "A Spy in the Enemy Camp - A transgender woman’s perspective from having lived as a man among men" since December 2011. Originally a record of my process and feelings in transition, last summer in 2013 it took on observations from both sides of the gender binary and now will also be looking at my past life pretending to be the man I never was and how it finally brought me to where I am today, the beautiful intelligent woman I had always believed I should have been since I was little.
This entry was posted in Shift Happens and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bangkok, Thailand, Here I Come!

  1. This is amazing news, Deanna. I’m so happy for you. Good luck, I wish you all the best moving forward. Warm fuzzies if you want them.

  2. I’m so very happy for you. It was difficult for me to get excited about my final surgery, I kept holding myself back out of fear that something would go wrong and it wouldn’t happen. But it did, and it is incredible how whole I feel now. I wish you the best in preparing for your gender affirming surgery – let yourself get excited 🙂

  3. Ken Shaw says:

    Hooray!!!

    Ken

  4. I’m happy to hear the news, Deanna. I wish you all the best, 3 times over! 🙂

  5. Dear Deanna Joy Hallmark,

    We are happy to accepted you for surgery at Preecha Aesthetic Institute in Feb. 2014. We are having meeting with WPATH team every month until the WPATH Conference in 2014. If you are having any question, we are here for you.

    Wish you best now.

Leave a Reply

