The Preface or How and Why I came to write this book

I got a start on my book today and wrote a good part of the Preface where I speak about why I came to write the book in the first place and at the same time, setting the tone of the book as not being just another autobiography but focusing on the insights that have come to me over the course of my transition. I also recap the first few “baby steps” and conclude with a comment about how I am now living in paradise every day.

Next will come the Introduction, where I will give a little History 101 about the “gender spectrum” and what transgender people are up against in their transition related to finding and keeping a job, securing housing , or just trying to be accepted, just as we are, while being the most marginalized segment of the general public. That will be followed by a simple outline of entire book so that readers can get a sense of the direction I’m taking in the body of the book.

From there I will begin writing each chapter using as a guide, many of my posts  which I have been writing in the last year and a half.  I want people see the gift and humor in each of these stories rather than dwell on the burden of being born transgender and facing a steep upward climb toward discovering the truth of who each of us really are

I haven’t decided on an ending yet which will be both a synopsis of the whole book, of which I have written, and my final  words on being a transgender woman in American Society.

Wish me luck but certainly don’t wish me to “break a leg” because as it is said “Be careful what you wish for, because you just might just get it.”

Deanna Joy

About Deanna Joy Hallmark

I am a post-op transgender woman who has now completed transition and living my life as the woman I was born to be. I have been writing my blog, now titled "A Spy in the Enemy Camp - A transgender woman’s perspective from having lived as a man among men" since December 2011. Originally a record of my process and feelings in transition, last summer in 2013 it took on observations from both sides of the gender binary and now will also be looking at my past life pretending to be the man I never was and how it finally brought me to where I am today, the beautiful intelligent woman I had always believed I should have been since I was little.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

