Hey-la-day-la Part Deux

I want to set the record straight about my post last time when , if you may recall dear readers, I related an incident between myself and the “man next door” that may have left a bad taste in the mouths of some of you who may have not seen my tirade as what it was meant to be, laughing at myself  for having once been “DUI” of the very same testosterone of which I spoke, and remembering how serious a person I used to be.

I just wanted to followup about what happened yesterday that I may hope will not leave any of you thinking that now, all of a sudden, I hate men because my perspective that has dramatically been altered since I finally started “acting” like the person “I was born to be.”

Interestingly, this may relate somewhat to the feeling on the part of some men and women alike, straight or otherwise, that Lesbian women automatically must be “man-haters” , a common misconception held by many, which does in part reflect something that all people share, regardless of their gender, as they define that gender to be for themselves, that we are all human. I has also made some Lesbians and Feminists become defensive and forget that we are all human and that we are no better or no worse than anyone else.

To what I am referring is the natural tendency of all of us is to take things personally or that we often take things much too seriously at times, which I freely admit to share, the difference being that I have taken the time to own up to my tendencies so that I may be able to laugh at myself when I see them manifesting in my behavior.

I saw a T-shirt online that sums up about that which I’m writing, which read

Lesbians don’t hate men
We love men
We just don’t want to see them naked!

Going back to the point of this follow up on my indictment of “testosterone-induced stupidity”, I want to let you know what happened to me yesterday when I tried to start my car, which I hadn’t used since Wednesday last, which demonstrates that encounters like the one I had, can often work out for the best, if we but take the time to laugh at our own human foibles.

In my previous life, I would not have been able to do what I did yesterday when I tried to start my car, which was to go next door and find my neighbor by following the sound of one of his cars running in his yard.  For me, it was a demonstration that I had let “bygones be bygones” and gave me the opportunity to accept his neighborliness once again.  He came over and when I tried to start it once again, he asked me if I had any gas in my tank and immediately I realized that the problem was really simple. Duh!

He then sent one of the other members of his household to the filling station who soon returned with a can of gas which my neighbor put in my tank.  The car still wouldn’t start after several attemps and he told me that by letting my tank go empty, that it could cause the fuel pump to go out and would likely have to be replaced.  I might otherwise have been terribly upset because I would need to wait until Tuesday to get it fixed because of the Memorial Day holiday and would mean that I would be stuck at home for a few more days more, after having been confined to home since the previous Wednesday, because of my back trauma.  I remembered that I was needing to go see my mechanic about my malfunctioning blower for my heater and air-conditioning anyway, and I could now “kill two birds with one stone.” That realization and the chance to slow down and take a forced breather and time-out, allowed me to stop and smell the proverbial roses, the least of which was that I have gotten my neighbor back. It also goes to prove that old adage that “Laughter makes the best medicine!”

A Happy and Safe Memorial Day, all y’all!

Deanna Joy

About Deanna Joy Hallmark

I am a post-op transgender woman who has now completed transition and living my life as the woman I was born to be. I have been writing my blog, now titled "A Spy in the Enemy Camp - A transgender woman’s perspective from having lived as a man among men" since December 2011. Originally a record of my process and feelings in transition, last summer in 2013 it took on observations from both sides of the gender binary and now will also be looking at my past life pretending to be the man I never was and how it finally brought me to where I am today, the beautiful intelligent woman I had always believed I should have been since I was little.
This entry was posted in Gratitude, Living in Grace, Shift Happens, unconditional love and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

