Let peace always begin with me

I read today of a the death of a two year old girl in Kentucky who was shot to death by her five year old brother, clutching a “My first rifle.” To read the story, click here.

I have spoken of this before after the tragedy at the Sandy Hook Elementary School in Newtown, Connecticut but, as in every tragedy of the death of innocents, the call for justice and more control over our personal civil liberties to protect us from our own human frailties is the usual response by those of us with a moral conscience, even when tempered by reason.

For myself, I believe it is not enough to express moral outrage in times like these, for to do so seldom, if ever, seems to make any difference when all is said and done. I believe it is far better to look into my own heart to see where my own unconscious beliefs and behaviors help to hold in place the continuation of hate and violence against one another.

I believe that we are all divine children of God, no matter how we profess or express our own connection to the source of all things, whether by good or evil, for evil is as much a part of me by my own refusal to own up to my prejudices and the behavior it brings with it, as a part of being human.

Peace!

Deanna Joy

About Deanna Joy Hallmark

I am a post-op transgender woman who has now completed transition and living my life as the woman I was born to be. I have been writing my blog, now titled "A Spy in the Enemy Camp - A transgender woman’s perspective from having lived as a man among men" since December 2011. Originally a record of my process and feelings in transition, last summer in 2013 it took on observations from both sides of the gender binary and now will also be looking at my past life pretending to be the man I never was and how it finally brought me to where I am today, the beautiful intelligent woman I had always believed I should have been since I was little.
This entry was posted in Divine, Shadow, True love and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

