Just hanging with the Girls

This past week has been been one of the most fabulous weeks a girl can experience just hanging out with the girls.  On Wednesday night I was invited to an open house of a girlfriend from the Santa Fe Embodydance Community where I first came out in November 2011 and on whose governing council I was elected to serve in February 2012.  There were about 8 of us girls who I all knew and I had the best time just sitting around enjoying snacks we all brought to share and talking about, well, things that we girls talk about.  It is so wonderful to just be treated as I am by women who have watched me blossom into the girl and woman I have dreamed about my whole life.

On Thursday, I met two other girlfriends, also from Embodydance, for nachos and beer at a local brewpub before our Thursday night dance.  It was the first time I really got to chat with them as I have only seen them at dance and that space is a non-verbal one. I learned some intimate details from one about her own body and we got to laugh about things that I have noticed from living as a woman since I began my transition over a year ago.

Friday night I went to a screening of my friend, Jill Love Jordina’s  Independent film, “Saving Isis” who was not only the star, but director and producer and filmed with local actors and crew in Santa Fe and other parts of this Land of Enchantment, including White Sands,  and in Spain, Jill’s birthplace. It takes place in a future world decimated by pollution and was filmed with no scrip or dialog and, as she said, was really created in post production with her editors. The screening was followed by food and drinks at a local restaurant and then an after party at a private home where I was able to meet one of the actors in the movie who is transgender and played the part of Jill’s father.  I had already purchased a copy of the film on DVD in advance of the screening which will help fund a future project. The film was visually stunning and a trailer from Youtube follows.

By the way, I danced until after three.  Whew!

Me with some of the Go Go Girls and the party's organizer on the left.

Me with some of the Go Go Girls and the party’s organizer on the left.

The week ended on Saturday with a party at a local nightclub which caters to a diverse gender crowd with a party for women only, queer or straight called The New Queer Women’s Dance party.  I am new to this kind of scene but again I had the time of my life and made some new friends.

Then came Sunday and Embodydance once again in the afternoon after the Celebration service in the morning.

Thank goodness I didn’t have a job to go to this morning! The week almost made me forget the one thing I have yet to do to make my life as a woman complete.  I said almost!

Deanna Joy

About Deanna Joy Hallmark

I am a post-op transgender woman who has now completed transition and living my life as the woman I was born to be. I have been writing my blog, now titled "A Spy in the Enemy Camp - A transgender woman’s perspective from having lived as a man among men" since December 2011. Originally a record of my process and feelings in transition, last summer in 2013 it took on observations from both sides of the gender binary and now will also be looking at my past life pretending to be the man I never was and how it finally brought me to where I am today, the beautiful intelligent woman I had always believed I should have been since I was little.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Just hanging with the Girls

  1. Hi, greeting ! It’s amazing to know someone in your age still transform in your gender. I also have a feeling to be a girl. Keep the spirit

    • Thanks Lulu. It’s good to know that my blog is being read in the non-English-speaking world. It is far easier being the girl I was born to be than being the guy I pretended to be for so long.

  2. D.C. says:

    Hi there! I nominated you for an award! Post will be up tomorrow 🙂

Leave a Reply

