Until one is committed

mountain climber 2
As I was responding to a post by my dear friend Kira Moore on her blog, I was reminded of a quote by which I live my life and have experienced over and over throughout my transition.

“Until one is committed, there is hesitancy, the chance to draw back, always ineffectiveness. Concerning all acts of initiative (and creation), there is one elementary truth, the ignorance of which kills countless ideas and splendid plans: that the moment one definitely commits oneself, then Providence moves too. All sorts of things occur to help one that would never otherwise have occurred. A whole stream of events issues from the decision, raising in one’s favour all manner of unforeseen incidents and meetings and material assistance, which no man could have dreamt would have come his way. I learned a deep respect for one of Goethe’s couplets:
‘Whatever you can do or dream you can, begin it.
Boldness has genius, power and magic in it!’”

W.H. Murray
Himalaya Expedition 1951

When I began my transition sixteen months ago, I declared to all that I was committed to my goal of full transition including the gender affirmation surgery, as I like to call it, and it has been amazing how effortless and magical my transition has been so far.  I have reached a plateau and it seems each day that I’m not moving at all, but like the mountain climber, to imagine anything other than success is not an option for me.  Each time I meet someone new and tell them of my goal, I have enrolled yet another person in support of that goal because I never know if it will be that person who will make all the difference with watering the seed that I have already planted.

Deanna Joy

About Deanna Joy Hallmark

I am a post-op transgender woman who has now completed transition and living my life as the woman I was born to be. I have been writing my blog, now titled "A Spy in the Enemy Camp - A transgender woman’s perspective from having lived as a man among men" since December 2011. Originally a record of my process and feelings in transition, last summer in 2013 it took on observations from both sides of the gender binary and now will also be looking at my past life pretending to be the man I never was and how it finally brought me to where I am today, the beautiful intelligent woman I had always believed I should have been since I was little.
This entry was posted in Providence and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

