Let there be peace on Earth, and let it begin with me

While am in shock once again and I agree that something should be done about these continued manifestations of violence, such as happened today in Connecticut, but I don’t think that taking this issue up again in the political arena will ever really change a thing.

Events like this, the Columbine High School massacre, the Aurora Colorado movie theater or even 9-11,  after we have let those most affected to mourn and grieve their loss, it always seems to be followed by anger and revenge taking and always sparks the debate about gun control once again, which seems to overshadow the reason why events like this happen and are happening over and over again with accelerating frequency.

There is a shadow energy in our collective unconscious whereby we have abdicated our responsibility in being co-creators of all that we experience and which holds this shadow energy in place by not acknowledging it’s existence or our own part in it, sort of like the elephant in the room that no one is talking about.

When we deny our own responsibility in being a part of this collective unconscious, what happens is that this shadow energy simply returns back into our collective unconscious, only to surface at another time and place and and in a different form.

We seem forget that these perpetrators of unspeakable violence are not monsters. They are human beings and children of God, just like us, and that events like this don’t suddenly manifest overnight, that it took some time to bring those we want to abhor to the place of causing such violence and sorrow. While I am not saying that we should simply forgive these perpetrators, I am saying that we need to look into our own hearts to see where we hold anger and other dark thoughts of revenge and violence.

Walt Kelly, long gone now, was a cartoonist who created the comic strip “Pogo.” One of the classic quotations from that strip that was also the banner of Earthday 1971, was “We have met the enemy and he is us.”

Peace,

Deanna Joy

About Deanna Joy Hallmark

I am a post-op transgender woman who has now completed transition and living my life as the woman I was born to be. I have been writing my blog, now titled "A Spy in the Enemy Camp - A transgender woman’s perspective from having lived as a man among men" since December 2011. Originally a record of my process and feelings in transition, last summer in 2013 it took on observations from both sides of the gender binary and now will also be looking at my past life pretending to be the man I never was and how it finally brought me to where I am today, the beautiful intelligent woman I had always believed I should have been since I was little.
This entry was posted in Mourning. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

