When someone hands you a gift, just say “Thank You!”

Yesterday’s little drama brought up once more a painful old issue around self sabotage.  The way I viewed these freak accidents in my past life as David was that they were wake-up calls to get me to see something that was just not working in my life and which had been trying to get my attention in every other way.

As I said in the post yesterday,  I thought I was done with the whole self-mutilation thing when I chose to begin my transition into becoming the woman I always wanted to be.  So far, things have been relatively effortless and painless with regard to creating the life I want for myself.  I had to ask myself the question “Did I do this to punish myself for something, to wake me up where I had been asleep, or was this something else entirely.

My former housemate/landlord, who I had to move away from in March, would view this as my way to get the attention I lost from my parents when my sister was born and then got seriously ill before she was two, just as he believes my whole transitioning “thing” is just my unconscious way of getting the attention I lost as a child.

Though that may have been true at one time, that is his reasoning projected on me and I don’t believe for one minute that my transitioning has anything to do with getting attention nor do I see this as the case with my recent mishap.  What I do see is that it will be a gift. Adverse turns of events generally turn out to be that way, if I embrace them instead of beat myself up with them and, most importantly, when I express gratitude for them without even yet recognizing the gift.

So!  I am thankful for my little setback. It is a gift. I will let it reveal its magic, in its own time.

Deanna

About Deanna Joy Hallmark

I am a post-op transgender woman who has now completed transition and living my life as the woman I was born to be. I have been writing my blog, now titled "A Spy in the Enemy Camp - A transgender woman’s perspective from having lived as a man among men" since December 2011. Originally a record of my process and feelings in transition, last summer in 2013 it took on observations from both sides of the gender binary and now will also be looking at my past life pretending to be the man I never was and how it finally brought me to where I am today, the beautiful intelligent woman I had always believed I should have been since I was little.
This entry was posted in Possibilities and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When someone hands you a gift, just say “Thank You!”

  1. Kira says:

    Some times all you can do is look to the positive side of things.
    Take car of yourself Deanna, we like you in one piece!

    Kira

Leave a Reply

