Taking a moment in support of a broader issue

Although the focus of this blog is about my own personal journey into being the woman of my dreams, sometimes I must stop a moment to support other issues in the broader spectrum of rights for those of us who chose not to conform to a religiously intolerant narrow-minded gender binary in order to live our lives as we choose rather than as a monolithic “majority” may want to choose for us.

What I am talking about is North Carolina’s sweeping vote in support for a state constitutional amendment to define marriage as a union between one man and one woman, as if the very meaning of those words were as clearly defined as many people still think to be so.

North Carolina Voters Approve Constitutional Amendment Banning Gay Marriage, Civil Unions

I am also including a link to a Facebook page Greensboro Against Amendment One from my former hometown of Greensboro NC, from where I moved with my partner and our son 22 years ago.  Their stand against this statewide measure makes me proud again that I once lived there.

Peace,

Deanna

About Deanna Joy Hallmark

I am a post-op transgender woman who has now completed transition and living my life as the woman I was born to be. I have been writing my blog, now titled "A Spy in the Enemy Camp - A transgender woman’s perspective from having lived as a man among men" since December 2011. Originally a record of my process and feelings in transition, last summer in 2013 it took on observations from both sides of the gender binary and now will also be looking at my past life pretending to be the man I never was and how it finally brought me to where I am today, the beautiful intelligent woman I had always believed I should have been since I was little.
This entry was posted in Reblog, Shift Happens. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Taking a moment in support of a broader issue

  1. When I hear about stories like this, I begin to wonder whatever happened to the meaning of the phrase in our Declaration of Independence which reads “…that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.”

Leave a Reply

