The privileges and perils of being a lady

The past few days have been rather interesting, to say the least. As I posted just the other day, my car broke down on the way home from a meeting of a support community of about ten very diverse individuals, coming together for the purpose of creating a real community out of that diversity.  Anyway, I have been without a car for the past three days and today, the shop that agreed to fix it had promised that I would have it by the end of this day.  I had waited patiently for them to call me to say it was ready but instead, I hitched a ride with my housemate over to the shop across town and when I arrived , another mechanic greeted me in the office and when I identified myself as the owner of the Chevy Malibu that they were working on, the mechanic called out to his boss that “the lady is here for the Malibu” or something to that affect because all I remembered was the operative word here being “lady.”

The boss came out to the office and invited into the garage to show me where they were at and explained that it should be good to go in about a half an hour.  As it was a warm day, I decided to go for a walk and headed off down the street and walked around for about fifteen minutes before I decided to turn back.  As I came back around the corner of one street, a young man called from behind me and having seen me pass by his place of business a while earlier, asked me if I needed anything.  I explained to him that I was just killing some time while my car was being repaired nearby and that I was quite okay. The next few minutes would turn into the most bizarre event to occur so far since the beginning of my transition. He asked if I might want to stop by his office for a little while.  I said “why would I want to do that?’ and he replied “I don’t know, it just looked like you needed some company!”  My ears prickled at the remark but as my woman’s intuition is still that of a young naive girl,  I decided to play along to see where it would lead.  He showed me to his office where the light was off and wanted to know if I might come inside.  It was then that it clearly dawned on me that this friendly guy thought that I might come in to have sex with him.  I turned for the front door, which he hadn’t locked and headed quickly out into the bright sunshine, never looking back.

As I hurried away, I didn’t know whether to be frightened or delighted.  As this was an industial neighborhood of building, all with multiple garage doors, as I made my way back toward the garage where my car was, I would notice men alone or talking to another and could almost feel their eyes upon my feminine form following me down the street.

Getting back to the shop, the owner told me that in putting my car back together that they had found the cause of why my car had overheated, requiring the new head gasket, which was that my water pump had a leak in it.  It was strange but I had thought of that several days before but forgot to ask him to look at the pump when I spoke to him on Thursday afternoon over the phone.  It would take another hour or so for him to send someone out for a new pump and to install it and finally it would come down to settling with him for the repairs.  He had told me that the original repair would be around $700 and I was expecting that it could now run me over $1000.  When he showed me the bill which he had printed on his computer, as he did so he said to not be afraid of sticker shock.  I didn’t quite know what he meant but the total printed on the bill was now over $1200 but he had written below in pen what my total would actually be which was $750, only $50 more than the original estimate.  It did even take into account that he had my car towed over from the first garage where they had given me a repair estimate of $2200.  You can image my joy and relief to have my car back after all that I had gone through for the past few days and especially what had transpired this afternoon.

I will probably never know whether or not that all of this had happened because the world was now seeing me as the woman that I have always wanted to be, and you probably may never convince me that this was not the case. It certainly is grand to be a lady, even when I get hit upon for simply being one.

Deanna

About Deanna Joy Hallmark

I am a post-op transgender woman who has now completed transition and living my life as the woman I was born to be. I have been writing my blog, now titled "A Spy in the Enemy Camp - A transgender woman’s perspective from having lived as a man among men" since December 2011. Originally a record of my process and feelings in transition, last summer in 2013 it took on observations from both sides of the gender binary and now will also be looking at my past life pretending to be the man I never was and how it finally brought me to where I am today, the beautiful intelligent woman I had always believed I should have been since I was little.
This entry was posted in Shift Happens and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

