Having the Time of My Life

Last night, on the way home from a meeting with one of the many communities to which I belong and where I can share my best and worst moments in life, my car overheated and conked out about a mile or so from home.  After several attempts to start it, I finally called for a tow to a nearby garage where I have had work done before and within the next half hour or so, the tow truck arrived and took myself and my car to the garage.  I had already alerted my housemate of my situation and all I had to do was call him back on the way to the garage to come and pick me up. When we got to the garage the driver suggested I leave the key with a form so I wouldn’t have to come back the next day and could simply call in to surmise what needed to be done.  Having already called me ma’am once or twice already, he offered to get the form for me.  As there were none he gave me a blank sheet of paper to write a note and wrap my key in and then offered to put my note and key back in the box for me.

One of the privileges I have enjoyed being a woman, especially a woman who has found herself stranded with a broken down car on a cold winter’s  night, is that men obligingly want to take care of me.  It was a very gratifying experience to be treated in such a fashion and it was not hard at all to accept those kindly gestures that I would presume would not be so obligingly offered if I were still a man.  He also offered to wait until my ride arrived so that he could feel assured that I was safe and on my way home for the night. Before we parted he told me that if I didn’t like what they told me at the garage today, that I should call him and he would give me the name of another mechanic to call that might give me a better break.

Anyway I called the garage this morning around 9 am, having been up since 7ish and they told me what I had feared the worst and that it would cost me $2200 for the repair, nearly the cost of what I had paid for the car with a newly replaced engine two years earlier.  I told him I would get back to him and called the tow man for his referral.  I called the number he gave me and explained what I had been told by my garage and he said he could do the same job for less than a third the cost and he would even arrange to have my car towed from my garage to his and also said he would make his own evaluation before he proceeded.

I couldn’t believe my good fortune.  What had been a harrowing evening the night before was now a day so bright that I almost swooned with how effortless the whole affair had unfolded just by living in the realm of  possibilities rather than allowing myself to settle for the first offer I was presented.

Such has it been for me these past few months since I have taken on the dream of my lifetime to be the girl I have always wanted to be.  Now, even in the midst of what could be regarded as a serious setback in my plans, I am still having the time of my life just being a girl.

About Deanna Joy Hallmark

I am a post-op transgender woman who has now completed transition and living my life as the woman I was born to be. I have been writing my blog, now titled "A Spy in the Enemy Camp - A transgender woman’s perspective from having lived as a man among men" since December 2011. Originally a record of my process and feelings in transition, last summer in 2013 it took on observations from both sides of the gender binary and now will also be looking at my past life pretending to be the man I never was and how it finally brought me to where I am today, the beautiful intelligent woman I had always believed I should have been since I was little.
This entry was posted in Sisterhood and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

