I am now officially Deanna

As of about 9 o’clock yesterday morning, Friday the thirteenth, my name legally became Deanna Joy Hallmark.  Going to court to have my legal name change was actually a very pleasant experience because all of the others who were seeking changes of their name were women, which is hardly surprising at all.  I mean,  just how many men ever change their name?  We were all nervous even though we all pretty much knew it was going to be routine.

After my hearing at the District courthouse, I was able to stop by the Social Security office and get my Social Security card updated but unfortunately I will have to wait until Tuesday update my driver’s licence. One of the women and her companion showed up later at the Motor Vehicle Department just after I did and we had a lively conversation about all the documents that  have to be changed as a result of our name changes and I felt like I was talking to a sister, which in fact, I was.

Its those kinds of connections to other women that I crave and when it happens it is wonderful, especially outside my circles of friends who have accepted me as I am.

Although I was a bit disappointed about the licence I came home this afternoon and took off my clothes and shapewear and noticed that all the walking and exercise is beginning to show some results around my middle, even without the shapewear.

Later in the evening I decided it was time to wax my breasts.  I used hot wax and it was so messy that I had to spend more time cleaning up than I did waxing them yet the results were worth all the trouble.  It was a lesson to be learned and I did it.  I had been shaving them frequently and they were always prickly by the next morning but after having my legs waxed and being able to enjoy having smooth legs day after day, I decided it was time to do the same with my chest and torso.

It was just another day in the life of a girl becoming.  On Sunday I am giving a twenty minute talk about my transition at my spiritual community, The Celebration that I scheduled months ago even before I  came out publicly.  I thought this day would never come but yet its almost here and I don’t have a clue yet what I’m going to say.

I’m excited and scared and yet  know it will all fall together somehow.  What am I going to wear?

About Deanna Joy Hallmark

I am a post-op transgender woman who has now completed transition and living my life as the woman I was born to be. I have been writing my blog, now titled "A Spy in the Enemy Camp - A transgender woman’s perspective from having lived as a man among men" since December 2011. Originally a record of my process and feelings in transition, last summer in 2013 it took on observations from both sides of the gender binary and now will also be looking at my past life pretending to be the man I never was and how it finally brought me to where I am today, the beautiful intelligent woman I had always believed I should have been since I was little.
This entry was posted in Sisterhood and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I am now officially Deanna

  1. Wear what makes you feel most like yourself! Think comfort, beauty, and self esteem to the max!

    Congrats!

Leave a Reply

