Moving forward to Sisterhood

I haven’t posted for a few days but yet I’ve been a busy girl.  Yesterday I went to see another doctor in the same clinic as my regular doctor who I came out to two weeks ago and who froze some ugly skin tags around my eyes last week. The reason I went to see her was that she had more familiarity in working with transgender patients.

We talked about estrogen therapy and about my taking the anti-coagulant Warfarin because of a blood clot I developed last summer after my double hip surgery.  I was her opinion that I should wait until February or March until I discontinue the Warfarin therapy and that she could probably begin the estrogen therapy in her office instead having to refer me to an endocrinologist. She also advised that I need to start working with a therapist in the meantime.  I told her that I have a friend who is also a therapist who could help me with that.

This was good news to me and allowed me to relax a bit so that now I can gently settle into my new life as a female instead of forging headlong into some crazed dash into the sisterhood of which I am now a part.  In the meantime I can start therapy,  allow my hair to grow out , develop ways to feminize my face with makeup and hair styling until such time I can afford the expense of any necessary facial surgery to complete my new look and to, of course, look ten years younger.  Tee hee!

The other thing the doctor informed me was that I could get a form from the Motor Vehicle Division on which she could sign off  that would allow me to designate my gender identity on my driver’s license as female.  Later in the evening, I was able to download the form and after reading it decided that I when I have my name legally changed to Deanna Hallmark, I could have both my name and gender changed on my license at the same time.  I can then begin to have my Social Security card and other financial documents including credit cards, insurance policies and the like changed as well.

In the meantime, everywhere I have registered my name that is not otherwise legal or financial, I can go ahead and have it changed to Deanna.

This morning I called the First District Court in Santa Fe to inquire about a legal name change and the lady on the phone explained that I could go to their site and download the entire package of instructions and forms that I would need to file, which I did.  I plan to go ahead and do that on Monday  and then publish a notice in the newspaper for two weeks in a row as required by law.

That means that I can begin the new year with my new name and my new gender designation as Deanna Hallmark, a female.  After that, I no longer need to pass as female, for as far as my identity is concerned, I will be female.

About Deanna Joy Hallmark

I am a post-op transgender woman who has now completed transition and living my life as the woman I was born to be. I have been writing my blog, now titled "A Spy in the Enemy Camp - A transgender woman’s perspective from having lived as a man among men" since December 2011. Originally a record of my process and feelings in transition, last summer in 2013 it took on observations from both sides of the gender binary and now will also be looking at my past life pretending to be the man I never was and how it finally brought me to where I am today, the beautiful intelligent woman I had always believed I should have been since I was little.
This entry was posted in Sisterhood and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

